The Hair: Doo Gro Mega Thick Conditioner Review

20140410_143602

With this hair growing at a steady pace I decided it’s time to experiment with some new products. Now that I know what my hair likes, I want to try products that do what my hair loves.

I saw this conditioner sitting in my bathroom cabinet I immediately assumed it was my mum’s since she loves tp buy hair products and never use them.  The ‘Anti-Thinning Formula’ Mega Thick Conditioner promises to thicken and strengthen hair as well as repair weak and damaged hair. It also says that it conditions, moisturizes and promotes thick, strong, growing hair with Shea Butter, vitamins, oat protein and botanical thickeners.

The Ingredients List:

Water (Aqua), Cyclomethicone, Glycerin, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Dimethicone, Mineral Oil (Paraffinium Liquidium), Cetaryl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Gylcol Stearate, Avena Sativa (Oat) Protein, Panthenol, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Polyquatermium-10, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B5), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A), Matricaria Recutita (Chamomile), Lawsonia Inermis (Henna), Hydrastis Canadensis (Goldenseal), Calendula Officinalis (Calendula), Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Equisetum Arvense (Horsetail Plant), and Sanguinaria Canadensis (Soapbark), Lactic Acid, Propylene Glycol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Sodium Chloride, Fragrance (Parfum), FD&C Blue 1 (CI 42090)

*Helps reduce breakage allowing hair grow longer!

20140410_143610

Considering the fact that I’ve been sticking to natural and organic ingredients and hair products as a means of maintaining the health of my hair, from looking at the ingredients list there shouldn’t be anything that draws me to want to use this product. Especially since the first 5 ingredients of any product pretty much tells you what the product us all about. So, from this list I can see that the conditioner was just going to coat my hair to give a silky feel. However, I went ahead and gave it a try.

Product consistency

Product consistency

The Pros

The conditioner has a sweet scent which straight away had me sold on it since I love hair products that smell good. The consistency of the product wasn’t heavy. It has a light but silky texture making it easy to distribute throughout the hair. All the protein in the conditioner (Henna, Panthenol, Oat Protein, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein) actually had some sort of effect as my hair felt stronger after rinsing it out of my hair. It didn’t feel mushy ans soft, it actually felt smooth, light and more resilient. I’m assuming it was the Vitamin E, Calendula and other moisturizing agents that had my hair feeling smooth.

The Cons

I’m feeling some kind of way about all the silicone and mineral oil in this conditioner. I’m not sure if it was actually the blend of natural goodness or the silicone that has my hair feeling fresh and smooth. Also maybe I’m just being nit picky, there were no instructions as to how long you should leave the conditioner in your hair. After shampooing it just states,  “Gently massage through hair, Rinse thoroughly”.

The Verdict

Despite the cones and mineral Oil, I actually really liked this conditioner as a deep conditioner with heat. I used it after co-washing with Giovanni Triple Tea Trea Conditioner and ACV Rinsing my hair.  I will give it another try as a rinse out conditioner without heat, but if it doesn’t give me results as good as I experienced this time around then I’ll just stick to it as a deep conditioner. I’m going to be consistent with it to see if it actually reduces breakage and then I’ll do another review once I’ve finished the bottle. The conditioner is also affordable, retailing at just £3.99 and available at PAKS Cosmetics and I’m sure it is available at most beauty supply stores as most Doo Groo products usually are.

Have you used this product before? What did you think? Do you know any other good protein/moisture balancing deep conditioners that give great results?

 

Leave a Reply

