Mixology: DIY Hair Balm, Mosituriser and Butter Whip

20140410_144249

Since going natural almost two years ago I’ve been telling myself that I’ll whip up my own hair prodcuts. After a year and some months of procrastinating I finally bought myself a hand mixer (which was only £7.99 and works amazingly well) and I got to mixing.

I’ve had a big chunk of raw Shea butter for almost a year that my mum brought back from her trip to Nigeria and I’ve collected a few other raw ingredients since then that I used to make my concoctions.

The main ingredients used were:

Cocoa Butter

Shea Butter

Beeswax

Argan Oil

Avocado Oil

Almond Oil

Castor Oil

Gylcerin

Emulsifying Wax

Essential Oil of choice

DIY Hair and Body Balm

DIY Hair and Body Balm

Balm Recipe

I used a chunk of solid Cocoa Butter, 3 sliced chunks from my block of Shea Butter, 7 pellets of Beeswax, 1 tablespoon of Castor Oil, 1 tablespoon of Avocado Oil, 3 pumps of my oil mix which consists of Jojoba oil, Apricot Oil, Almond Oil, Argan Oil and Rosehip Oil and 5 drops of Benzoin Tincture. I double boiled the ingredients until it was completely melted. I then mixed it together and addded 4 drops of mandarin essential oil and 4 drops of cinnamon essential oil and poured it into an empty Neal’s Yard Remedies tub and placed it in the fridge. I ended up leaving it there for a couple of days but once I took it out and it cooled to room temperature it smelt amazing and the consistency is so silky smooth. I have yet to use it but I plan to use it to seal the ends of my hair and as a leave in deep conditioner.

 

DIY Hair and Body Butter

DIY Hair and Body Butter

Butter Recipe

I wanted this product to be more of a creamy whipped Shea mix, I’m not to sure what I did wrong but I guess practice makes perfect.

For this product I used 3 slices of my Shea Butter, I melted my jar of Cocoa Butter and used 7 teaspoons of it, 4 pumps of my oil mix, I tablespoon of Avocado Oil, 1 tablespoon of Argan Oil, 1 tablespoon of Almond Oil, 1 tablespoon of Castor Oil, 5 drops of Benzoin Tincture, 5 drops of Propolis Tincture, 4 drops of Mandarin Essential Oil and 4 drops of Cinnamon. I then whisked it togetherwith my hand mixer until smooth. I then placed it into a jar.

I have already used it on my body and as a leave in deep conditioner. I smoothed it through my hair after washing and conditioning and sat with it under my hair dryer for 5 mins. it left my hair silky and shiny. I plan to continue to using it on my body as my daily moisturiser.

20140410_144343

Cream Recipe

This started off great but it has solidified and melts down to a cream at body temperature. I used a 1/4 cup of water, a small chunk of Shea Butter, 3 teaspoons of Cocoa Butter, 2 teaspoons of Emulsifying Wax (double boiled to liquid), 2 teaspoons of Glycerin, 2 teaspoons of Aloe Vera Juice, 1 pump of my oil mix, 1 teaspoon of Almond Oil, 1 teaspoon of Argan Oil, 1 teaspoon of Avocado Oil, 4 teaspoons of flaxseed gel, 5 drops of Benzoin Tincture and 4 drops of an Essential Oil blend. I then whisked until smooth.and put it into two small bottles.

I have since used it to seal the ends of my hair after doing a braid out. It feels a little sticky so I’m going to improve my technique and start measuring out ingredients properly.

Lessons Learned

I will definitely be measuring out ingredients properly. This time around I estimated the quantity sizes and just went off of feeling but next time I’ll do it properly. I’ll probably get a few lessons in mixing ingredients and try again

Have you tried your hand at any DIY hair or body products? What was the outcome?

Leave a Reply

