Matters of the Heart: Are you satisfied?

image

“Even before he made the world, God loved us and chose us in Christ to be holy and without fault in his eyes. God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself
through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure. So we praise God for the glorious grace he has poured out on us who belong to his dear son.” Ephesians 1:4-6

For the longest time I have struggled with the feeling of not being satisfied, mostly with my finances.  I would complain about not having enough without putting in any work to be in a position to have my finances meet my needs.

If you’re anything like me, you’ll understand what it means to be a dreamer.  You see, I’m a dreamer in the highest sense of the word. My head is always in the clouds thinking about where I wanna and am gonna be. I have all these ideas and means of accomplishing these ideas. However,  the dangerous side of dreaming is that you can get so caught up in the dream that you end up sitting with your hands of the steering wheel, at a green light on an empty road with no one honking horns behind you to snap you out of it and put the pedal to the metal.

Sometimes I even get caught up the downward spiral of comparing my life and situation to others, which as I’m sure we all know does terrible things to ones self esteem.

One thing I have grown to realise with time and communication with God, is that satisfaction is all in the mind and not in the clouds.

When it came to my finances, things started looking up the moment I stopped looking at other people’s pockets and started focusing on putting in the work. I decided that God was going to be my provision as well as my provider. I decided that I was satisfied and had enough regardless of my circumstance or situation. Of course witb that decision came changes.

Once I became satisfied with what I had, there was a shake up in the job department, because there’s no way I was going to be satisfied doing what I didn’t enjoy. Once that change was in place and I had genuine enthusiasm for my job and passion for what I do, my finances took a pleasant turn and I saw that I had all that I needed and more to sustain myself. Even giving God the requires 10% became a joy to me.

I realised that once I realised only God could satisfy me, I became satisfied and it was a joy for me to satisfy God, therefore giving me peace of mind.

Now I sit not asking only for God to be my provision and my provider, but for him to also be my satisfaction in all things. I still battle many weaknesses but today I realise that the key to overcoming is for me to be satisfied with God and trust in him to be my satisfaction in order to fill the void in which makes me fall into temptation and sin in the same way that I trusted him to be my provision and provider.

Dissatisfaction will leave you chasing your tail and wanting more of the same thing, therfore making you self indulge.

So today I ask, what are you battling with?
What are you chasing?
Are you satisfied?

“Furthermore, because we are United with Christ, we have received an inheritance from God, for he chose us in advance, and he makes everything work out according to his plan.” Ephesians 1: 11

Leave a Reply

