Vanessa Simmons dishes on pregnancy, cravings and sharing the news with Rev Run

A Place Called Home Charity Fundraiser

 

With the great news of Vanessa Simmons and Mike Wayans baby on the way circulating around the web, Vanessa had a chat with Essence to share her joy and how her father’s encouragement “meant the world” to her.

Here’s what was said:

On telling the Rev

“There’s this whole idea of first comes the marriage then the baby carriage so I was so nervous,” she tells ESSENCE.com. “But my dad was actually really excited because this is the first grandchild for my family.”

“I think somewhere deep inside he was kinda like, ‘When am I going to experience that part of life?’ Of course he wants us to get married, but for now he was like, ‘We’re gonna figure this out. Just be happy and have a healthy pregnancy. I’m behind you a hundred percent.'”

On Cravings

The Run’s House star who’s been in “hibernation” for the past three months because of severe morning sickness, says her cravings are triggered by food blogs. “Anything I see I want,” she says before confessing her current Slurpee addiction. “Every time my mom calls me she asks, ‘Where’s Mike?’ and I’m like, ‘He’s at 7-Eleven,'” she says. “The cherry-flavored Slurpee is my weakness. So is the Jamba Juice Mango-a-go-go smoothie.”

On walking down the aisle

Simmons and Wayans plan to walk down the aisle. Just not now. “Of course we talk about that and it’s looking good,” says Simmons. “But I don’t want to be a pregnant bride. I wanna have a beautiful wedding, hopefully a destination wedding where I can show off my figure in a beautiful long flowing dress.”

On baby names

All along the couple thought they were having a boy and have been playing around with boys names for the past three months. Instead, last week, they found out a “little princess” was on the way. “Now I’m stumped thinking of little girl names,” says the happy mom-to-be. “But I’m excited because little girl clothes are amazing and I’m the girliest girl ever!”

Check out Essence.com for the full article

Leave a Reply

