The Hair: I dyed my hair!!!

photo

 

Well, It wasn’t anything drastic as you can see, but I used Garnier Olia in Mahogany Brown to give my hair a more red look. I love how it just looks lifted like a brownish red colour which is what I wanted. This picture was taken only two days after dying it so the colour had brigthened up since then. I just haven’t been able to take a great pic where the colour has popped.

Garnier Olia was super easy to use and is actually what I exchanged my Lee Stafford Hair Growth Conditioner and Lee Stafford Breaking Hair Leave-In Conditioner for. The first and last time I dyed my hair was the day I big chopped and have been scared to dye it since that day. Always playing with the idea but never doing anything until recently when I became 100% sure that I wanted to do it. I’m so pleased with the results. My hair didn’t break, the dye is ammonia free and sits in the hair like oil while it is developing. I followed the instructions and have been using the Olia conditioner that came in the box to keep my hair super soft and keep my colour shiny. I have also been using Tresemme Colour Revitalise conditioner to co-wash and maintain my colour. I love my new colour!!! Especially since I don’t use heat in my hair, neither do I protective style so this keeps my hair looking jazzy. I was going to try and hold out to get Shea Moisture’s Colour system hair dye in a red/brown colour but being in the UK it is not available to us just yet and only God knows when I’ll be able to get my hands on it.

I have been using Lush henna for almost three years now and have never gotten the colour I want. Although the henna left a red tint in my hair that is visible in the sun I had to accept that if i really want the reddish brown colour I’ve been longing for then I’ll have to use permanent dye. I may continue to use Lush’s Caca Rouge to make my hair redder.

I will be touching up my colour every year until I get bored and just leave it looking like an intentional ombre. Who knows, I may even go full on and dye my hair red or blue,

Courtesy of UK Naturals Instagram page

Courtesy of UK Naturals Instagram page

 

I love that blue/turquoise/green ombre.

When colouring hair please do a strand test first and make sure you take the time to think about it and be sure of what you want.

 

What’s everyone doing to their hair while the sun is shining and the weather is sweet?

 

Leave a Reply

