The Music Video: French Montana Ft. Nicki Minaj “Freaks”

French Montana and Nicki Minaj in "Freaks"

Ever since hearing this song at the end of last year/start of this year it’s been one that has stayed on my mind. I always come up with music video concepts after hearing a song that I like for the first time and I have to admit I’m disappointed with this video.The dancers were great but I feel like the overall visuals failed me. I would have like to have seen more of an outside, mango trees and palm trees type of throwback to 90s Caribbean music video a la Shabba Ranks Mr Loverman and Chaka Demus and Pliers Murder She Wrote from which the song samples the beat. I’m just not feeling the video. But this is still a banger in my books and a great summer song and the video doesn’t translate that. And hell to the nawl, not even Nicki’s pasties and half whine/bum flick could save this video.

What is it with French Montana sampling club classics and thinking it’s OK to give half assed performances over the beat?

Anywho…what do you think of the song and video?

Leave a Reply

