Natural Hair Care for the Colder Months

As the leaves turn a beautiful auburn, pinkish red, browny colour and fall off tree branches, I can’t help but think of two things. 1.) how can I get my hair that colour without using chemical dye? 2.) it’s officially autumn now.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t notice how dry my hair had been getting in this chilly London weather. I have already planned to put my hair in box braids to protect my hair from drying out and breaking during these next few cold months, infancy until spring. But until then it’s definitely time on adopt a autumn/winter regimen.

I’m almost 5 months post big chop now (my the time has flown) and I’ve been experimenting with braid-outs to stretch my hair and show of the length of my growing fro. However, nothing beats a good wash and go which I have grown so used to over these past months. Either way, whatever I choose to do to my hair I have complied some products to give me soft, moisturised, glossy curls this and next season.

Pre-poo Treatments

I will alternate between:

Lush Roots Hair Treatment
Lush Jasmine and Henna Fluff Ease Treatment

Shampoo
ORS Curls Unleashed Lavish in Lather Sulfate-Free Shampoo

Conditioner

Lush Retread Conditioner

Moisturising and Styling

ORS Nature’s Shine
Palmer’s Coconut Oil Formula Replenishing Hair Milk
A homemade Shea butter whip (courtesy of one of the lovely inventors of Lush’s R&B Hair Moisturiser)
Lush R&B Hair Moisturiser

I usually use the hair milk or Shea butter whip fresh after washing and conditioning my hair and then use nature’s shine to seal. What I will do these next few months is use the hair milk and then nature’s shine on wet hair and alternate between the whip and the R&B on dry hair and use the nature’s shine to seal in moisture.

I want to try a new Sulfate free shampoo if you have any suggestions please leave them in the comments.

Also if you have any products you would like me to review please leave their names in the comments also.

20121017-080848.jpg

Yesterday was a wash day 😊
P.s shrinkage is real lol

Leave a Reply

