Natural Beauty

So, I’m officially team natural 🙂

I was transitioning from relaxers and growing out my natural hair for a while. I’ve never been someone that relaxes their hair often as I usually do it every few months and wear weaves or braids.

As of March this year I was officially transitioning. but over the past couple of years my hair had become so damaged from not being careful enough with my hair.

So on March 23rd 2012 I chopped all my hair off and dyed it a brownish red colour. I pretty much killed two birds with one stone as I have always wanted to dye my hair but never had the courage to since I already had enough chemicals in my hair due to relaxers. I had been thinking about cutting the hair for months but was trying to avoid doing it by transitioning instead. But I couldn’t be happier with my decision, I’m absolutely loving it!

I spend a lot of my time consulting others about their hair and skin while working at Lush, so there are a few products that I know my hair loves and I will continue to use. But now that I’m all natural, I need to change my hair care regimen a little.

Right now I’m just using VO5 Nourish Me Truly Conditioner to co-wash my hair every morning and I’ll be using Organic Root Stimulator’s Curls Unleashed Sulfate Free Shampoo to wash my hair at the end of every month.

I feel like I cut my hair at the perfect time as we are dealing with a heatwave over here in London.

Are there any products you could recommend to a type 4a/b hair natural girl?

2 thoughts on “Natural Beauty

  1. Have you tried As I Am? It’s a line of products specifically for natural hair. They don’t contain sulfates, parabens, silicones, petrolatum, mineral oil or animal by-products. I’m especially a fan of their Doublebutter Cream. It’s a fabulous cream moisturizer that seems to breathe new life into my twist-outs. I don’t know if they are in stores across the pond yet, but you should be able to buy them online. They have a full line of cleansing, conditioning and styling products. They are a little higher priced than general brands, but not as expensive as stuff like Miss Jessie’s. And the packaging is beautiful. My transition to natural is done now. I started using this brand last year while I was transitioning my own 4b Black girl’s hair and it helped me avoid having to do the big chop. My twist-outs are soft and my hair actually swings and bounces and is growing like crazy. Amazing! You should be able to find them on Facebook and I think their website is asiamnaturally.com. Blessings and fun on your journey!

    • No I haven’t tried that brand. Thank you for telling me about them it’s much appreciated. I’m always on the look out for good natural brands to try out. Most products aren’t available in the UK but there are sites designed for naturals to have access to the products. I’ll definitely check As I Am out. Thank you and thanks for checking out my blog. 😉 x

Leave a Reply

