The Rise of Afrobeats: continued

I just finished checking out a package done by DJ Edu for Radio 1xtra.

I really loved the different voices in this piece and the artist spotlight. D’banj is definitely a heavy hitter in the afrobeats movement. I have followed his entire career and I will continue to do so because he is really a star.

You can’t talk about Afrobeats without mentioning 2face Idibia. African Queen is still the biggest song.

I’ve known about Fally Ipupa for about 7 years now and I knew about him through my Congolese friends. He is an amazing dancer and a great artist all around. I will learn what he is saying in those songs, I’m going to make it my mission.

Hats off to 1xtra for holding it down for Afrobeats over the years because I remember those JJC days. This package really sums up what afrobeats is about and gives you a crash course into the movement. Alot of honourable mentions from 2face to Magic System and  Olu Maintain to Wizkid.

Here’s the link for the show:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b019n9pn/BBC_Radio_1Xtras_Stories_The_Rise_of_Afrobeats/

One thought on “The Rise of Afrobeats: continued

Leave a Reply

