What I learned this Year

This year has been such an emotional rollercoaster for me. I turned 21 and I must say that it wasn’t as great as I thought it would be. Everyone has this image in their mind of tunring 21 and suddenly you feel liberated and free to do as you please. The world is your oyster and all that good stuff, however all I was handed was a full fledged adult oyster card (that’s right no more discounts)

This year I graduated and said goodbye to education only to re-think the whole thing and decide that i’ll do my masters this year.

I had so much responsibility dumped onto my shoulders this year, at times I felt like I was suffocating under it all. But then I took a look around and realised one thing: I’m still standing and I’m still ok.

Sometimes we get thrust into things and we don’t know what to do or who to turn to but the best way to get through something is to simply walk through it and have faith in the process and know at the end you will come out better than how you started.

In 2011 I started my Mary Kay business on a high and ended on a low, Just before I finished my Journalism degree I felt like I wasn’t going to make it all the way to the end.And at the end of the year I fell into the biggest debt of my life aside from student loan. I was even stalked. But I’m still ok.

While doing my 2011 end of year round-up I decided I would share some of the lessons I learnt this year, I hope whoever reads this will be encouraged and grab every oppportunity 20112 has in store. Most of the things I learned, I already knew. Somethings were oadictions but they were lessons none the less.

If you really want to do something, then do it. Every year we make new years reolutions and break them before we start them. Through the year we say we’re going to start new and amazing ventures and end up saying “I’ll do it tomorrow”. As cliche as it may be, if you really want to get something done jst do it today. If you want your new years resolution to be sucessfully executed, start before the new year starts. Once you are in the habit of doing something it becomes easier to do. Remember that yesterday you said you’ll do it tomorrow.

Trust no one. This year I honestly learnt how real it is to trust God and God alone. I also understood why for all my life I have relied on myself to get things done and try to be as responsible as possible in my decision making. People will surely disappoint you and the biggest mistake I made this year was putting my trust in things that were not certain. I will never do that again.

Have someone you can go to for help. As much as you can’t trust anyone, you should still be able to share your thoughts and problems with a close friend or family member. Not to say that you have to share your deepest, inner most thoughts, but when things get too rough you should be able to vent and get it all out in the open with someone. I’ve always been good at keeping things to myself because that has always worked for me, but this year I was forced by my situation to cry it out and trust that there is always a shoulder to lean on.

Trust in the process. In October I started Catch 22, a trainee journalist programme. I got there at the lowest point of my year and it is here that I am learning so much about myself and life. Sometimes we are so caught up in our capabilities and our own little world. We so much believe that we know what we’re doing and no one can tell us different. Being at Catch 22 threw me off my high horse and made me stop, listen and learn. Even if I knew the lesson, I was sure to learn something new all over again. Because of our pride, our circumstances or even our frustrations we tend to doubt the process of things. We doubt that we will get to where we want to be because we are forced to start from the beginning and take things step by step or because we are forced to speed up and get straight ahead into the level of our capabilities. But you have to trust the process and trust that you will end up right where you need to be. It’s more than being where you want to be.

And that takes me to one of the greatest lessons I learnt this year, Starting again isn’t the end of the world. If I take a look at where I was two years ago and where I am now, it’s like another person’s life. Financially, physically, mentally, spiritually, I was altogether. I have always known what I want, but have never really broken out of my comfort zone to get it done. It’s like I had to be completely broken down to really understand what I am capable of and where I am heading to. Like I said I started a business this year and it was going great until my vision got clouded by personal issues that made me lose focus of my goals and things began to crumble. I had to start again. So hear I am, at the starting line, with a clear view of the track and I finally know what I want and where I’m going. My business has pushed me out of my comfort zone and has me doing things I never thought I could do, this blog being one of those things. In starting again, I know the ups and downs and know what it takes to be great and this year, that’s what I’m going to do.

If you apply yourself the possibilities will be endless. I know that one thing that stops me from getting ahead is not applying myself into everything I do. I know what needs to be done but most times I do what is acceptable and move on. It has worked out fine for me all my life, but now is the time to be great. Good just isn’t enough anymore. You have to push yourself to do better than the last time. That’s what separates the good from the great. There is nothing impossible in this life, it’s just about how badly you want it and it starts with applying yourself.

My time at Catch 22 ends in February but I know the lessons will be embedded in my heart for the rest of my life. Before the end of the course I will post more things about it and great quotes from my mentors.

I really hope I have encouraged someone today, because I’m encouraged just writing it all.

Leave a Reply

