Standout songs of 2011

I am a huge music fan, so it was really difficult to do a general round-up of my favourite songs from this year let alone all the hot songs that came out across genres. But I will only do one chart and hopefully this time next year my top ten charts will be separated into genres and categories.

This list is made up of the songs you know you couldn’t go anywhere without hearing

20. Don’t Wanna Go Home – Jason Derulo

This song is a club banger, point, period, blank. As much as I haven’t been a fan of Jason Derulo, he brought out some certified hits this year.

19. Love On Top – Beyoncé

Of all the songs of Bey’s album this song really stood out. It’s a lovely r&b song that had everyone’s head nodding, fingers snapping and feet tapping and she really flexes her vocal ability on this record.

18. It Girl – Jason Derulo

Another one of those hits from Jason Derulo.

17. Lego House – Ed Sheeran

This was a nice year for newcomer Ed Sheeran and this song really made me pay attention to his ability as a singer and songwriter. Very talented, I understand the hype.

16. Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5 ft Christina Aguilera

This song gets everyone on the dance floor. No matter where or when you hear it, all you want to do is dance. I’ve always been a fan of Maroon 5 and this just made me fall in love with them all over again.

15.Super Bass – Nicki Minaj

This song had the kids excited so much so that it brought to attention a little YouTube sensation by the name of Sophia Brown-Lee

14. Who You Are – Jessie J

Although it was X Factor contestant Misha B’s version that really made me fall in love with the song, this is definitely a stand out track with a great message.

13. No Regrets – Dappy

The N Dubz front man stepped out alone with a reflective single and a catchy hook. I couldn’t listen to the radio without hearing this a dozen times in the space of an hour or so.

12.The Lazy Song – Bruno Mars

“Today I don’t feel like doin’ anything *whistle* I just wanna stay in my bed *whistle* Don’t feel like picking up my phone, so leave a message at the tone. ‘Cause today I don’t feel like doin anything, nothing at all”  Enough said

11.Earthquake – Labrinth ft Tinie Tempah

Labrinth really flexed his muscles as a musician. The beat was crazy, the lyrics were on point and his delivery was executed nicely.

10. Otis – Jay Z and Kanye West

The Otis Reading sample is what makes the song hot in my opinion. As soon as you hear it you know what it is, “Please her, don’t tease her, never leave her, Got ta, got ta na na na.” That sample went in.

9.We Found Love – Rihanna

This is Rihanna’s biggest hit to date. Beating Umbrella and Love the way you lie. I love the video for this and this tune is some straight fist pumping fun.

8.Rolling in the Deep – Adele

I love this because it was a nice up tempo song from Adele for a change. Even if you can’t boogie down to you, you can sway and give a little shimmy.

7. You Need Me, I Don’t Need You – Ed Sheeran

This was a big hit for Ed Sheeran and I absolutley loved it.

6.Look at Me Now – Chris Brown

Chris Brown started this year with a bang and told us all to look at him now. He has definitely come a long way and you can’t deny that he is a force to be reckoned with when it comes to the music.

5.Motivation – Kelly Rowland

Kelly worked her way out of the shadows with this one and after many pushed back album release dates we finally got a second album. I’m sure many weren’t even checking for her before she gave us this single, but once everyone heard this sexy summer single it was all on the up and up for Ms Rowland.

4.Give Me Everything – Pitbull ft Neyo

“Grab somebody sexy tell em’ hey, give it everything tonight” I love love love this song. I’ll still be partying to this song well into 2012.

3. Someone Like You – Adele

If there is anyone who knows how to tap into emotions and send listeners to a place and time to relive moments all over again, it’s Adele. As depressing as the song may be, it gets me in a solemn mood. You can’t help but feel Adele’s pain.

2. Beautiful People – Chris Brown

Chris Brown was on fire this year. That is all

1. Party Rock Anthem – LMFAO

The ultimate party song. You could literally finish watching the video on one channel only to see it start again on another. Even when it got annoying, I was still shuffling up and down my house and jumping all over the place like a lunatic.

I’m sure there are a whole bunch of songs that everyone feels were massive this year but I chose these as the standout tracks . I give honourable mentions to Wretch 32 for Traktor, Lil Wayne  for How to Love,  and J Cole and Trey Songz for Can’t Get Enough. Like I said it was difficult choosing songs, there were so many.

Leave a Reply

